Hand-Lettered Book Project II

We’ve just finished our second hand-lettered book project, which was creating a hand-lettered calligraphy or blackletter book. I chose to write the calligraphy myself instead of tracing it because I wanted more of an organic look and feel. Although the other traced blackletter designs I’ve seen from other students are incredibly beautiful, I wanted mine to feel more personal. I chose to write a poem by Garcilaso de la Vega, called¬†En tanto que de rosa y azucena, written in the 16th century. I struggled with a few different ideas on how to lay out my book, starting with an unsuccessful accordion book, and ended up writing a scroll on vellum. I wanted to incorporate some illustration as well which I did, but I have yet to finish decorating the drop caps and the border. Here are a few photos of my process and end result.

IMG_0156 IMG_0140

 

IMG_0143 IMG_0144

Hand-Lettered Book Project I

We have been working on hand-lettering in my package design class, and our first project was to create a book showcasing different hand-lettered fonts, along with the computer created font. I used my favorite art quote, “Good artists borrow, great artists steal.” Here are a couple pics of my end product.

IMG_0116 IMG_0117IMG_0118IMG_0120IMG_0122IMG_0125